Juryen i Nordic Music Prize har gått fra 50 til 12 album som er med i kampen om årets nordiske album 2012.

Her er deres egen beskrivelse av de 12 nominerte:

Selvhenter - "Frk. B. Fricka"
The all-women quintet Selvhenter is part of the bustling and sprawling Copenhagen underground. In a controlled eruption of two drumkits and distorted cello, violin and alto saxophone they kick against rationalism and the homogeneity of welfare society – and show us that passion doesn't have to be sung, but can flourish as collective instrumental cramps.

Choir Of Young Believers - "Rhine Gold

Shameless pop dream and socio-political art ambition in one. Jannis Noya Makrigiannis – of Greek-Danish-Indonesian origin – adds deciding depth to his hymns on his sophomore album. A singular personal vision expanded by a collective of six fellow believers adding a wide palette of colours, cosmic narratives and an intense faith in political change and civic awakening to these indie spirituals.

Susanne Sundfør - "The Silicone Veil"
The already highly acclaimed musician Susanne Sundfør upped the ante with this album, taking her idiosyncratic songwriting skills further into electro-acoustic territory, combining the beautiful and the disturbing, the danceable with the contemplative, and flying high while maintaining a tight connection to a general pop audience.

Tønes - "Sån av salve"
Cult songwriter Tønes from Egersund, Norway finally makes it to the big time with his seventh studio album, produced by Frode Strømstad of I Was A King-fame. But it's Tønes' amazingly simple, but effective tunes, and his peculiar lyricism that wins the listener over. Some might say that it is hard to understand just what it is that he is singing, but his dialect only adds to the pleasure.

Lindstrøm - "Smalhans"
An instrumental space disco concept album about traditional norwegian food? Why not, with the fingerspitzgefuhl of Hans-Peter Lindström, we are always in safe, groovy hands. Synthesizer-led tunes soulfully building a bridge from Miami to Milan for us to dance across, in six long stretches. He has already released another amazing album this year, the more experimental and totally rocking "Six cups of rebel". But "Smalhans" shows a disco producer at his very prime.

Pää Kii - "Pää Kii"
"Pää Kii" is the eponymous debut album from a true punk rock band, filled with spiky and witty lyrics, catchy hooks and untamed power. Pää kii is proving that punk can be far more than just another marketing term for loud and fast mainstream rock.

Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi - "Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi"
Kerkko Koskinen used to be the leader of late 90's platinum selling group Ultra Bra and now he is back with three female vocalists. Koskinen mixes elements from old Russian schlagers, latin and jazz and creates grand and passionate Finnish music.

Neneh Cherry & The Thing - "The Cherry Thing"
The shape of Nordic jazz and punk to come. The Thing is a Nordic power trio with Swedish saxophonist Mats Gustafsson and Norwegian doule bass player Ingerbrit Håker Flater and drummer Paal Nilssen-Love. Neneh Marianne Karlsson Cherry, born in Skåne, is a force of nature.

First Aid Kit - "The Lion's Roar"
150 years ago 1.2 million poor Swedes emigrated to America, a quarter of the country total population, and took their fiddles and folk singing with them. Now the music is coming back. Young sisters Klara and Johanna Söderberg sings like angels in America, waking up their ancestors.

Anna von Hausswolff – "Ceremony"
Recorded on a church organ in a church in Gothernburg, 26 year old Anna von Hausswolff performs songs about death and mourning with titles like ”Funeral for my future children”. A dark and beautiful album, with influences from drone music. A totally original work of art.

Ásgeir Trausti - "Dýrð í dauðaþögn"
This impossibly young - but at the same time highly matured - singer/songwriter took Iceland by storm this year with his debut album, "Dýrð í dauðaþögn". The backbone of his art are melancholic and acutely understated songs, recalling at times the great Bon Iver. The playing throughout is beautifully realised, the production full bodied but intense and his voice cuts through with mournful sincerity.

Retro Stefson - "Retro Stefson"
These Icelandic live favourites have really hit their stride with their third album. The core of the group have been making music together since primary school so the almost telepathic aura in the overall performance should not come as a surprise. The music is both tight and adventurous, quirky yet danceable, catchy - but at the same time reaching for the stars and breaking ground anew.

The Nordic Music Prize Committee:
Ralf Christensen – Denmark
Jan Gradvall – Sweden
Ilkka Mattila – Finland
Audun Vinger – Norway
Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen – Iceland

The international jury:
Andres Lokko – Journalist, Sweden
Laurence Bell – Domino Records

, UK
Jeannette Lee – Rough Trade Records, UK
Mike Pickering – Columbia Records, UK
Jonathan Galkin – DFA Records, US